Welcome to the forums!

Our encouraging community is a dedicated resource for innovators everywhere.

Learn about industry trends, common questions,
and stay informed of the latest happenings at Edison Nation.

Scam Alert - Licensing Deals

high5apparatus's Avatar

Beware of someone calling from a place called Universal Manufacturing Corp saying they are interested in licensing your patent.  Red flags went up immediately for me, but I decided to play along to see where they were headed until I got the ultimate red flag: give us thousands of dollars for us to license your product.

Their website is universalmanufacturingcorp.com and you will see such obvious mistakes where reverse image searches of "products" on their site are incredibly wrong: such as something listed as a OBDM Monitor that is a vacuum or the "timing diagnostics set" which is just an MP3 player link for a car.

Their current website is almost an exact clone of one for Global Express Manufacturing (globalexpressmfginc.com), so they are either copying the con, or changing their name to start over.  The Universal Manufacturing Corp URL was registered via a anonymous proxy registrar just last February.

When they miraculously called us back to say the creative team picked our product (which I predicted weeks earlier to my wife because the scam doesn't work unless they pick our product) we turned them down after they started asking for money.  They keep calling, but we are not answering.

Neil Lizotte
posted    Report this topic
gadgetmanken's Avatargold

You hopefully didn’t loose your idea in the process did you? Their site may have been hacked too. But they could be scamming and or stealing ideas. Alot of us here can relate to that.

posted    Report this post
mvesterby's Avatar

Thank you for your post.  I just recently received a call from them on my patent.  I didn't get to a point of them asking for money on the phone.  The licensing guy rescheduled the first call and then didn't call me at the rescheduled time.  After reaching back to him via email to see if we were still on and emailing the rep that setup the first one, he then called me and didn't even apologize for missing the time.  He started in with a bunch of detailed questions about my business, product and sales and was calling me "buddy" on phone like we had been working together for years, so I started asking questions about their company.  He then somewhat aggressively proceeded with dialog that they were interested in helping me grow my sales and asked if I wasn't interested like I should automatically just start disclosing everything about my business because they called.  I told him sure I was interested but I won't share that sort of information without a Non-Disclosure agreement in place.  To be honest, I wouldn't share that information even with an NDA in place.  At that point he cut the conversation short and said you've got my email address, send us what you've got and we will take a look at it.  The whole call felt like I should be grateful they even called.  Not the way to develop genuine business relationships.

posted    Report this post
allanna85's Avatar

A woman name Erica Grey called me from this company and told me they were interested in my product. She explained she found my product from a company I worked with, invents.com, which they do create an website for your product for companies to view.  I am schedule to speak with a man by the name of Daniel Hillard Wednesday at 10am. I will entertain this conversation to see how far this goes,  however, I will NOT nor will I EVER discuss my product without an NDA in place and even so they have to show me how legit they are. Too many scammers and creeps to just give valuable information too. 

Steffan Blaser
posted    Report this post
pauly's Avatar

I just got a call from a Marvin Jones. He did the same thing to me as what I read from you Adam. He said that he got my invention information some way and want to invest in my idea. He sounded like a sales guy and used the “buddy” term like he did with you. He explained what he could do, tht they would do all the manufacturing, sales, packaging, and that I would get about 20%...and, in the end, said that it would cost about 7 thousand dollars.

Here’s the thing. I don’t have that kind of money. Literally, I don’t. If I did, I’d be manufacturing it myself.

But I did go to the webpage and it seems legit. I can never tell about these things.

He has asked for more of a description and explanation of my invention. I have yet to do so but I was going to have him signing a NDA if I do.

They are sending me over some contract and want me look over and he was going to call me later and discuss. God, I want something like this to happen, but I don’t know if this is a scam. I can never tell!!

Do manufactures or investors do this? Ever? Do they call out to people? Is there any legit business that will work with people? Do they ever offer anything more than 2%?

I was thinking of telling him that I literally don’t have the money and see how he reacts. I mean they should be more concerned with the actual invention than my ability to pay…right?

posted    Report this post
kimmyk's Avatargold

I hear of so many scams like this.  If you care about your idea, I would leave those folks alone.  I sure as heck wouldn't send them any money!

Steffan Blaser
posted    Report this post
kdc's Avatar

Thanks for the warning...we've got to stick together against the scammers.

Steffan Blaser
posted    Report this post
patrizia66's Avatar

Thanks, this is good information and I would not give my information on my ideas unless there is NDA, and I too do not have thousands of dollars to give either.

posted    Report this post
foxyhope's Avatar

How did the scammers get your information?

Steffan Blaser
posted    Report this post
kiskom's Avataree_badge

I received a phone call as well in regards to AeroLeash. I knew it was a scam. I told them to call Everyday Edisons they own the license. LOL 

Steffan Blaser
posted    Report this post
trishl's Avatar

I have been contacted by a company by the name of Fazt-Tech Manufacturing. And it sounds very similar to Adam Woehler's tale....their creative team "picked" my product, my patent, to license. But they want $4,000+ for a 7% royalty, or $8,000+ for a 16% royalty. They go out and get POs and then cover the cost of manufacturing. Yet, their address is a virtual office conplex in GA. Red flags on the field. (I was about to correct the spelling on "complex", but maybe conplex is the best spelling!)...lol

Steffan Blaser
Mrs OG
Darlene Batrowny
posted    Report this post